In order to make Sanity Studio real-time, it sends edits as patches to the backend. All these patches are stored as transactions. Together they make up your documents’ revision history.
History retention is the amount of time you have access to these revisions before they are automatically deleted. The latest version of your published and drafted document will always be available.
The retention period on your documents are defined by the plan you are on. We count retention time backward from the current day.
The retention time for the different plans are:
- Standard (free, pay-as-you-go): 3 days
- Advanced: 90 days, can be upgraded to 365 days
- Enterprise: 365 days, or contact us for custom retention
Revisions that are older than the cutoff will be truncated into one revision item, older transactions will be permanently deleted. The document history is truncated regularly every day.
We introduced history retention to make it possible to use Sanity and be GDPR compliant. You can learn more about our security and compliance here.
Upgrading the retention time
If you change retention time by changing plans, or upgrading on your current plan, this will only affect the retention cutoff time by postponing it to however long your retention time is. The retention history for your documents will stay as it was before the upgrade.
Downgrading the retention time
The revision history for all your documents will be truncated to your new cutoff time when downgrade either by turning off the upgrade on your current plan, or switching to one with less included retention time.
Exploring history in Sanity Studio
There are two ways to access document revision history in the studio:
- Via the document menu
- Via the
Updated <timestamp>link to the right of the status labels
Document status labels
The labels under the title in the document editor shows whether the content you are looking at is published and/or a draft.
The content in the editor is the same that is published to the API.
The content in the editor has not yet been published, or has been unpublished.
The content has been edited after the document has been published.
The document is in live edit mode, all changes are published real-time.
History status labels
These are the labels for the revision items in the history view.
The document was published to the API.
The document was unpublished from the API.
The document was edited.
Revisions before the cutoff date