Is it Possible to Configure the Block Content Editor to Avoid the “click to activate” Feature?

7 replies
Last updated: Aug 6, 2022
Hi everyone! Is there a way to configure the block content editor to avoid the “click to activate” feature? Switching back and forth between multiple pages with block content editors for the content makes the “click to activate” a bit tedious.
Feb 8, 2022, 10:58 AM
Good question.. I would like to know too
Feb 8, 2022, 1:11 PM
Come to think of it, I don't think I've caught in the read yet why it's like that to begin with.
Feb 8, 2022, 3:06 PM
Yeah, I’d like to know how to change this as well
Feb 8, 2022, 3:29 PM
You can't currently change this behavior, unfortunately. As I recall, it has something to do with handling focus/presence in the Studio but I could be wrong! I will pass this feedback along to the team.
Feb 8, 2022, 6:22 PM
Oh that makes a lot of sense. Nobody has wanted to play with me collaboratively in my project yet so I forgot about the bit of magic.
Feb 8, 2022, 6:24 PM
Thanks for the answer Racheal. So it probably has to do with handling multiple people editing on the same document at once? That’s a valid concern and something I haven’t thought much about how Sanity handles. But in general when working on setting up lots of content at once, being able to avoid this click would be nice, so would be interesting to hear what you guys can figure out 🙂
Feb 16, 2022, 10:34 AM
user M
Maybe it'd be useful to change this behavior to work a bit like a multithreading lock? E.g.: disable the input when someone else is editing (or give a warning). This way you have the most friendly behaviour when no one else is editing. In a lot of our projects, that will be most of the time.
Aug 6, 2022, 7:21 PM

Sanity.io – build remarkable experiences at scale

Sanity is a customizable solution that treats content as data to power your digital business. Free to get started, and pay-as-you-go on all plans.

Categorized in